ABOUT

THE PROFESSIONAL:

I am an elementary and early childhood teacher-turned-professor (among other things). I have worked for the past several years as an adjunct professor for several different universities in Pennsylvania. I am eager to finish my doctoral work and work full time. In addition to my university work, I also work as an Early Intervention Special Instructor and an assessor for an online professional development organization.

I am currently a candidate for doctorate in Curriculum & Instruction. My undergraduate degree is in Elementary and Early Childhood Education, and I have a masters degree in teaching focused on Integrated Natural Sciences.

Through my life experiences and education I have become more and more convinced of the importance of social and emotional learning in the classroom. Please see my Research page for more information on this. 

THE PERSONAL:

I am a wife, foster/adoptive/biological mother, and educator. I have lived in several different states, and I love the different experiences each place has brought.  My husband and I will mark 20 years of happy marriage this May 2019 and we have 7 great kids. We also have 3 dogs, 2 cats, and 9 chickens, so you know, we like to keep busy. I love gardening- especially permaculture- and I am earnest, though not always faithful, in my desire to live a sustainable life. I am also a musician, from a family of musicians, married to a musician, and raising musicians. Making music is one of my most soul-filling creative pleasures. I even met my husband when I joined a ska band in college! My faith in Jesus encompasses everything I am and all that I do.